Skip to main content

Just a few days after it announced events would be postponed for the immediate future, the UFC are already planning a return date.

As reported by ESPN’s Brett Okamoto, the mixed martial arts company is aiming to host an event on May 9, which was already in its schedule as UFC 250, originally set to take place in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

According to the report, the UFC are aiming for the event to feature three title fights in the form of Tony Ferguson vs. Justin Gaethe, Henry Cejudo vs. Dominick Cruz and Amanda Nunes vs. Felicia Spencer. Donald Cerrone vs. Anthony Pettis, a rematch from 2013, is also verbally agreed to take place, this time at 170-pounds.

Francis Ngannou vs. Jairzinho Rozenstruik is also expected to be rebooked.

UFC 249 was scheduled to take place this Saturday night after facing a vast number of logistical issues with the coronavirus pandemic. In the end, despite finding a venue willing to host the event, UFC president Dana White cancelled proceedings after his partners at ESPN asked him to “stand down.”

Last Thursday, while making the announcement that the event was being postponed, White pledged to be the first sport returning to action.

Per Okamoto’s report, the May 9 location is still to be determined, although an option could perhaps be found in Florida after the State’s Governer named professional wrestling company WWE an ‘essential’ business and as such able to hold (fan-free) live events.

Another venue that could potentially be on the cards is White’s infamous ‘Fight Island’, to which White has referred to as a “real thing” that will be happening. White has recently stated infrastructure for events is currently being built on the island.

The full card for the event, as reported by ESPN, is currently targeted to be:

– Tony Ferguson vs. Justin Gaethje
– Henry Cejudo vs. Dominick Cruz
– Amanda Nunes vs. Felicia Spencer
– Francis Ngannou vs. Jairzinho Rozenstruik
– Jeremy Stephens vs. Calvin Kattar
– Donald Cerrone vs. Anthony Pettis
– Greg Hardy vs. Yorgan de Castro
– Alexei Oleinik vs. Fabricio Werdum
– Carla Esparza vs. Michelle Waterson
– Ronaldo ‘Jacare’ Souza vs. Uriah Hall
– Vicente Luque vs. Niko Price
– Charles Rosa vs. Bryce Mitchell